Alameda County

SEIU 1021

Alameda County Bargaining Update
March 13, 2019

Tentative Agreement Reached!
 Your bargaining team is happy to announce that after over a month of meetings since January, a tentative agreement on a 3-year contract extension with the County has been reached. The agreement is a significant improvement on the extension offer that was rejected in 2018. In the coming weeks our Union plans to hold multiple worksite meetings and Town Halls to answer questions and share more about the tentative agreement. Extension ratification vote will be scheduled for mid-April.


Alameda County Bargaining Update
March 6, 2019

Members Make the Case for Salary Adjustments

Members representing 33 classifications made Salary Adjustment presentations to the County to demonstrate the need for salary adjustments.

This is the largest number of presentations for salary adjustments in any contract year. While there is no guarantee any classification that presented will receive a salary adjustment, the presentations created an opportunity for consideration by the County for salary adjustments if a contract extension agreement is reached and ratified.


Alameda County Bargaining Update
Feb. 8, 2019

On February 8th your bargaining team held their second meeting with management to discuss a possible contract extension. We expect management to propose wage increases the next session. 

The proposal was largely the same as the proposal the members voted on in 2018, with one significant difference: The County is no longer seeking to implement a “Vacation Hard Cap” on all county employees. This proposal was a source of confusion and frustration in 2018, and your bargaining team is very happy to see that proposal disappear. 


Feb. 14th Alameda County Chapter meeting cancelled

ALCO General Chapter will not be having a chapter meeting on Feb. 14th, 2019
Both chapter meeting and steward council are cancelled, and next meeting will be held on March 14th, 2019 @ 5:30 100 Oak Street.

See you in March

Respectfully Tina Tapia, Chapter President


Alameda County Bargaining Update
January 30, 2019

On 1/29, your bargaining team held their first session with the County to discuss a contract extension. Both sides reviewed the Tentative Agreement that failed in 2018 and specifically discussed why it wasn’t successful. Your bargaining team then caucused and discussed the pros and cons of extending the contract

Upcoming bargaining dates:

  • 2/8/2019
  • 2/28/2019

Upcoming Salary Adjustment dates:


Our Next Chapter Meeting

There will be no Chapter Meeting for the Alameda County General Chapter in November. Our next Chapter Meeting is Dec. 13th 2018 at 100 Oak Street, Oakland. If you can’t join the meeting in person please join us via ZOOM on your computer at home:

5:30 Dinner, Meeting from 6:00 to 7:00 pm

Steward Council meets afterwards from 7:00 to 8:00 pm

RSVP to the Member Resource Center at 1-877-687-1021.


About SEIU 1021 in Alameda County

SEIU Local 1021 represents over 4,000 Alameda County Government workers. These workers are members of three different chapters in Local 1021, all working under the same contract. The Social Services Agency (SSA) Chapter includes mostly members from the former Local 535, as well as some members from former Local 616. All members of the SSA chapter work for that county agency. The Behavioral Health Care Services (BHCS) Chapter includes members who work in the BHCS branch of the Alameda County Health Care Services Agency (HCSA).