SEIU 1021

Congratulations to our union’s newest Executive Board members!


A hostile, anti-labor president, a cadre of millionaires and billionaires attacking workers across the country, Janus v. AFSCME, wildfires blazing up and down California, the worldwide COVID-19 pandemic, a continuing onslaught of police brutality and white supremacy, an insurrection to overthrow a democratic vote at the U.S. capital, the last Executive Board of SEIU Local 1021 saw a world turn upside down. Yet, through it all, our union survived. We fought the battles that seemed insurmountable, took on challenges that were unprecedented, and faced events that were unpredictable.

Now, at over sixty-thousand workers strong across Northern California, SEIU Local 1021 enters its fifteenth year of existence with a new Executive Board. The climate of 2022 to 2025 will undoubtedly be as tricky to navigate. However, the new Executive Board will rise to the occasion.

“Here we are once again. Three years later and another term of the SEIU Local 1021 Executive Board has finished,” said recently re-elected SEIU 1021 President Joseph Bryant“Like our 2021 Convention’s theme, ‘Organize Good Trouble,’ we organized, fought, and beat back some troubling developments over the past three years.”

On Saturday, March 19, 2022, member-leaders from across Northern California came into the San Francisco office of SEIU Local 1021 to be sworn in as the union’s new Executive Board for the 2022 to 2025 term.

President Bryant spoke about the accomplishments of the last term, “Since the beginning of the 2019 to 2022 term, our Executive Board has faced unpredictable and unprecedented challenges. Though those challenges seemed insurmountable, we rose to meet each moment, making SEIU 1021 stronger than before. Through the work of each and every one of you, we developed emerging new member-leaders, staged powerful strikes, and took on our employers to win substantial contracts under the toughest of conditions.”

Looking toward the upcoming three-year term, President Bryant continued, “I am proud of how far we have come in the last three years, and I hope you are, too. Over the next three years, and through our member-leader-led committees, the new SEIU 1021 Executive Board will continue to fight for economic, racial justice, and environmental justice.”

As passed at last year’s member-led convention, by an average of 95 percent of voting delegates, the new Executive Board will focus on six planks in its platform: racial justice; economic justice; environmental justice and climate action; unions for all; member unity and power; and reclaiming our democracy.

You can learn more about each of these six planks and watch their presentation at the convention at the links below:


President: Joseph Bryant; Vice-President of Politics: Ramses Teon-Nichols; Vice-President of Organizing: Brandon Dawkins; Vice-President of Representation: Sandra Lewis; Vice-President Region A (North Central): Akbar Bibb; Vice-President Region B (North Coast): Mary Sandberg; Vice-President Region C (East Bay): Yeon Park; Vice-President Region D (San Francisco): Theresa Rutherford;  Vice-President Region E (San Joaquin/Calaveras/Amador): Taffie Walter; Secretary: Mary Duncan; Treasurer: Amos Eaton; Retirement Security Committee Chair: Derrick Boutte;  

Cities Industry Chair: Felipe Cuevas; City and County of San Francisco Industry Chair: Evelyn Curiel; Counties Industry Chair: Tina Tapia; Courts Industry Chair: Kasha Clarke; Health Care Industry Chair: Moises Vega; Private Sector/Non-Profit Industry Chair: Angel Valdez; Education Industry Chair: Maria Salazar-Colon; Special Districts Industry Chair: John Arantes;  

Alameda County Area Representatives: Tina Diep, Veronica Palacios, and Richard Thoele; Amador County Area Representative: Patricia Orey; Calaveras County Area Representative: Todd Nosanow; Mendocino County Area Representative: Toni Fort; San Francisco County Area Representatives: Charito Casanas; Solano  County Area Representative: Elizabeth Harrison; Sonoma County Area Representative: Sandy Sigala;   

Budget & Finance Committee Region A (North Central): Tazamisha Alexander and Karla Faucett; Budget & Finance Committee Region B (North Coast) (1 of 2): Travis Balzarini; Budget & Finance Committee Region C (East Bay): Rhea Davis and Cynthia Landry; Budget & Finance Committee Region D (San Francisco): Trevor Adams and Harold Powell; Budget & Finance Committee Region E (San Joaquin/Calaveras/Amador) (1 of 2): Monique Baca; and Retiree Council Chair: Greg Marro.  

The following races received no eligible nominations for candidates; therefore, the vacancies will be filled through appointment by the Executive Board at a later date:  

Budget & Finance Committee Region B (North Coast) (1); Budget & Finance Committee Region E (San Joaquin/Calaveras/Amador) (1);  Butte County Area Representative (1); Contra Costa County Area Representative (1); Del Norte County Area Representative (1); Marin County Area Representative (1); Napa County Area Representative (1); Registered Nurses Industry Chair (1); Sacramento County Area Representative (1); San Joaquin County Area Representative (1); San Francisco County Area Representative (2); Shasta County Area Representative (1); Social and Economic Justice Committee Chair (1); and Yuba County Area Representative (1).