Special Executive Board Meeting Tuesday, September 1, 2020, 5:30pm-7:30pm <u>MINUTES</u>

Executive Board Members Participating: President Joseph Bryant, Secretary Mary Duncan, Treasurer Amos Eaton, VP of Organizing Jennifer Esteen, VP of Politics Ramses Teon-Nichols, VP of Representation Sandra Lewis, VP Region-A Akbar Bibb, VP Region-B Mary Sandberg, VP Region-C Yeon Park, VP Region-D Theresa Rutherford, VP Region-E Marcus Williams, Nathan Dahl, Jim Wise, Karla Faucett Angel Valdez, Harold Powell, Cynthia Landry, Derrick Boutte, John Arantes, , Felipe Cuevas, Richard Thoele, Kendra Bruno, Mercedes Riggleman, Brandon Dawkins, Taffie Walter, Tazamisha Alexander, Sandy Sigala, Sunny Santiago, Elizabeth Harrison, Travis Balzarini, Rhea Davis, Julie Meyers, Cheryl Hicks

Executive Board Members Excused: Dellfinia Hardy, Sasha Cuttler, Pete Albert, Monique Chaney-Williams, Todd Nosanow, Sandra Wall, Evelyn Curiel, Lorraine Bowser, Geneva Haines, Tina Diep

Staff in Attendance: John Stead-Mendez, Robert Li, Joanne Cansicio, Peter Masiak

President Bryant called the meeting to order at 5:347 p.m. A guorum was established.

Agenda: BART Chapter Election Challenge

President Joseph Bryant gave an overview of the purpose for calling a Special Executive Board Meeting. He explained that a report by the BART Election Committee will be presented to the Board. Member Comments will be permitted to allow members the opportunity to address the Board.

An overview of the circumstances of the challenge was explained. Prior to the Shelter in Place (SIP) Orders due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the BART election was already in progress. However due SIP, the process was paused. There was a determination by the Local Executive Board to be as cautious as possible of members & staff health and safety concerns. A moratorium was placed on new elections, which included a suspension of elections until they could be conducted safely. A decision by the BART Election Committee was made to not count the ballots until they could be processed safely. An overview of the challenges that were raised was also shared. The Election Committee's written report was provided to the Board, as well as the challenge that was submitted by member Ryan Rivera.

Member Comments:

Ryan Rivera, BART Member:

Spoke to the concerns that the election was tampered with and requested a new election.

Bobbi Hodgerney, BART Member:

Spoke to the concerns that the ballots were tampered with.

Molly Golson:

Spoke to the concerns that the ballot box was tampered with.

Tanya Lewis-Williams:

Spoke to the Chapter President being present during the vote count.

John Arantes:

Spoke to the chapter bylaws, which allows for candidates to be present during the ballot count. He also spoke to his belief that were was no tampering of the election and it was held fairly.

Rhea Davis:

Spoke to questions in the process when it comes to deliberations.

Denise:

Spoke to the day of when ballots were counted.

Chapter Election Committee Report:

President Joseph Bryant introduced Election Committee Member, Israel Lopez, who presented the report on behalf of the committee. Mr. Lopez reviewed the written Election Committee report. The report includes a chronological order of events throughout the process. It was explained that the Committee researched and discussed the protest from member Ryan Rivera. The Election Committee's findings found no grounds for the protest.

The Board proceeded to address questions to the Election Committee, as well as to Ryan Rivera.

The Board moved to closed session at 8:23 p.m.

John Arantes and Rhea Davis were recused from the closed session.

Executive Session:

The Board deliberated the Election Committee's report, as well as the challenge that was submitted.

M/S/C (Eaton/Balzarini) to uphold the Election Committee's report.

M/S/C (Williams/Sigala) to extend the meeting to 9:00 p.m.

The Board moved to open session at 9:01 p.m.

President Bryant announced the motion passed during closed session.

By consensus, the Board agreed to adjourn the meeting at 9:04 p.m.

Respectfully submitted by,

Mary Duncan Secretary