Local 1021 Special Executive Board Meeting Tuesday, March 12, 2024 MINUTES

Executive Board Members Participating: President Theresa Rutherford, Secretary Mary Duncan, Treasurer Amos Eaton, VP of Organizing Brandon Dawkins, VP of Politics Ramsés Teón-Nichols, VP of Region-A Akbar Bibb, VP of Region-B Mary Sandberg, VP of Region-C Yeon Park, VP of Region-D Kristin Hardy, VP of Region-E Taffie Walter, Felipe Cuevas, Tina Tapia, Angel Valdez, Norlissa Cooper, Greg Marro, Derrick Boutte, Evelyn Curiel, Nicole Christian, John Arantes, Tina Diep, Veronica Palacios, Richard Thoele, Alicia Ramirez, Sandra Wall, Lorraine Bowser, Charito Casanas, Debbie Dobson, Desiree Collins, Geneva Haines, Elizabeth Harrison, Sandy Sigala, Tazamisha Alexander, Karla Faucett, Travis Balzarini, Rhea Davis, Cynthia Landry, Trevor Adams, James Maher, Monique Baca

Executive Board Members Excused: Sandra Lewis, Kasha Clarke, Maria Salazar-Colón, Patricia Orey, Todd Nosanow

Staff in Attendance: David Canham, Robert Li, Nely Obligacion, Joanne Cansicio, Peter Masiak

Call the Meeting to Order:

The meeting was called to order at 6:03 pm by President Theresa Rutherford. A quorum was established. The item of the special meeting is the consideration of the Alameda Health Systems (AHS) Doctor's Dues proposal.

Alameda Health Systems (AHS) Doctor's Unit Dues Proposal:

President Rutherford shared that the workgroup has revisited the proposed dues structure, as discussed at the February E-Board meeting. E-Board members Veronica Palacios, Yeon Park, Amos Eaton, along with member John Pearson and staff Peter Masiak and David Canham presented the proposal.

The team provided background of this campaign that included a 5-day strike in October 2020. Bargaining on their first contract began in March 2022, and a tentative agreement was reached on Feb. 14, 2024. An overview of available options, including dues cap options was reviewed.

The new proposal is for a cap of \$114.00 per pay period, which is the highest cap in the Local.

A motion was made by Travis Balzarini to reject the proposal. This motion was rejected by the Chair (President) stating that a motion was not yet called for. Discussion on the proposal continued. A recommendation was made to address the Local dues structure.

M/S Tapia/Dawkins) to approve the proposed dues structure of 1.74% up to the \$114.00 per pay period cap. A roll call vote was requested. President Rutherford proceeded with tallying the votes, with assistance from Joanne Cansicio.

Mary Duncan = Yes Amos Eaton = Yes Brandon Dawkins = Yes Ramsés Teón-Nichols = Yes Akbar Bibb = No
Mary Sandberg = Yes
Kristin Hardy = Yes
Taffie Walter = Abstain
Felipe Cuevas = Yes
Tina Tapia = Yes
Angel Valdez = Yes
Norlissa Cooper = Yes
Greg Marro = Yes
Derrick Boutte = Yes
Evelyn Curiel = Yes
Nicole Christian = No
John Arantes = Yes
Tina Diep = Abstain
Veronica Palacios = Yes

The motion passed with 27 voting in favor, 6 against and 3 abstentions.

Adjournment:

By consensus the Board agreed to adjourn the meeting at 7:29 p.m.

Respectfully submitted by,

Mary Duncan Secretary