Special Local 1021 Executive Board Zoom Meeting Tuesday, Feb. 6, 2024, 5:00pm to 6:30pm <u>MINUTES</u>

Executive Board Members Participating: President Theresa Rutherford, Secretary Mary Duncan, Treasurer Amos Eaton, VP of Organizing, Ramsés Teón-Nichols, VP of Region-A Akbar Bibb, VP of Region-B Mary Sandberg, VP of Region-C Yeon Park, VP of Region-D Kristin Hardy, VP of Region-E Taffie Walter, Felipe Cuevas, Tina Tapia, Kasha Clarke, Maria Salazar-Colón, Angel Valdez, Norlissa Cooper, Greg Marro, Derrick Boutte, Nicole Christian, John Arantes, Tina Diep, Veronica Palacios, Richard Thoele, Patricia Orey, Alicia Ramirez, Todd Nosanow, Sandra Wall, Lorraine Bowser, Charito Casanas, Desiree Collins, Geneva Haines, Sandy Sigala, Tazamisha Alexander, Travis Balzarini, Rhea Davis, Cynthia Landry, Trevor Adams, Monique Baca

Executive Board Members Excused: Brandon Dawkins, Sandra Lewis, Evelyn Curiel, Debbie Dobson, Elizabeth Harrison, Karla Faucett, James Maher

Staff in Attendance: David Canham, Robert Li, Josie Mooney, Nely Obligacion, Joanne Cansicio, Carlos Rivera

Call the Meeting to Order:

President Theresa Rutherford called the meeting to order at 5:04 p.m. A quorum was established. The item of the emergency meeting called by President Rutherford is the consideration of hiring a consultant as the Local Convention Project Manager.

Local Convention Project Manager:

President Rutherford, David Canham, Robert Li, and Ramés Teón-Nichols presented. An overview of how past conventions were managed, including prior costs, were reviewed. The progress of this year's convention planning was also shared. The proposed agreement for this year's convention is with Laurie Earp of *Earp Events & Fundraising*. The scope of the work includes developing a detailed project plan for the convention, assist with design of relevant materials, assist with workshops for the convention, coordination & communication with convention planning teams, trouble shooting, monitor & track progress, ensure the quality & compliance of the project and that it adheres to Local policies & standards. The proposed duration of the project is for eight (8) months at a total contract cost of up to \$72,000. If approved, the plan is for the consultant to be focused exclusively for the duration of this project. A lengthy discussion on the request followed.

M/S (Sandberg/Eaton) to table the request to the BFC. A roll-call vote was conducted. President Rutherford proceeded with tallying the votes, with assistance from Joanne Cansicio:

Mary Duncan = Yes Amos Eaton = Yes Ramsés Teón-Nichols = No Akbar Bibb = Yes Mary Sandberg = Yes Yeon Park = Yes Kristin Hardy = Yes Taffie Walter = Yes Felipe Cuevas = Abstain Tina Tapia = Yes Kasha Clarke = Yes Maria Salazar-Colón = No Angel Valdez = Yes Norlissa Cooper = No Greg Marro = Yes Derrick Boutte = No Nicole Christian = Yes John Arantes = No Tina Diep = Abstain Veronica Palacios = No Richard Thoele = Yes Patricia Orey = Yes Alicia Ramirez = Yes Todd Nosanow = Yes Sandra Wall = No Lorraine Bowser = No Charito Casanas = No Desiree Collins = Yes Geneva Haines = Yes Sandy Sigala = Yes Tazamisha Alexander = Yes Rhea Davis = No Cynthia Landry = Yes Trevor Adams = Yes Monique Baca = Yes

The motion passed with 23 in favor, 10 against and 2 abstentions.

Adjournment:

M/S/C (Sigala/Christian) to adjourn. The meeting adjourned at 6:38 p.m.

Respectfully submitted by,

Mary Duncan Secretary